Skip to content

China Diaries: What I miss the most

November 12, 2016

China Diaries: What I miss the most

I have been in China for 3 weeks now and I am beginning think about what I miss the most from home.  Aside the intellectual comfort of a familiar environment I physically want for nothing.  China is a comfortable place for the western visitor.  Especially when you compare the amount of pay versus the cost of living.  People I have spoken to here are very focused on making money in China before the head back to their own countries to live off their earnings.

Freedom means different things to different people. Political power is just one the freedoms.  I do understand the western Marxists always try to make the personal political in order to make the polical personal but in my universe politics is not that import.  It may surprise people that I am not overtly political myself, this blog is just a tiny pool in amuck bigger life.  A life that has more important things to do than just worry about endless power struggles.  My life is much more than this.

Today in China they had some big conference for the Communist Party.  We all got free food at the cafeteria.  One of my students was asked to photograph the event.  When I saw some of the images that he took I was impressed. Gosh, propaganda staged events are visually impressive.  Impressive, sicophantic and soulless.  What more can you say about a junket that busses in Party members to run a conference that no can explain what it was about.  Dressed in their best suits with a small souvenir Marxist badge the delegates wandered around the lunchroom like they had just been to a product launch.  They even had those plastic sleeved tickets hanging around their necks. Wow, Communism is trying to resell it self as the iPhone of ideologies pretending that the iPhone 7 is better than iPhone 6s, or is it iMarxist 2.0.  The junket is over,the delegates have gone home and the unwelcome circus moves on.  Now people are going back to buying and selling stuff on Alibaba (delivery is in 5 days or better).  Owning stuff is so much cooler than ideologically rejecting all private property.

Owning the latest iPhone is hardly the highest ambition of a life well spent, but it is a small gesture.  A symbol that an entire ideology is in its death throws. I am watching it unravel infront  of my eyes and it is spellbinding.  The average Chinese are dead eyed about the event like a bunch of kids being forced to listen to the old music that only their parents liked.  It is over CPC let it die already.

It has been 3 weeks since I have been home to see my family and I have 2 weeks to go.  I do not feel that I am thousands of kilometres away from my family.  Logically I know that I am, but my mind does not seem to want to accept this fact.  Perhaps it is the fact that China is now a modern economy.  The supermarket is just across the road. The bus stop is just up the road.  The pub is a ten minute walk away.  Clean streets and order prevail.  How am I supposed to know that I am in another country if they do everything the same as we do?  Also the climate has been very similar to Melbourne weather.

I do miss my wife and family. I speak to my wife every night via the phone or Skype but it is not the same as being there.  I had some time to think about what it is that I miss the most. Then it struck me.  Intimacy.  The direct contact and touch of the people closest to you. The certain knowledge that they are real to you.  I definitely believe that human are made for intimate relationships and it is something that I wish to rejoin again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2016 1:40 am

    Glad that you are having a wonderful time. I hope for peace and cooperation between the USA and China, and of course also Australia in there too under the new President Trump.

    Like

    • November 12, 2016 2:01 am

      Howard Gibson
      Thanks for your comments.

      I hope that things do settle down. I not sure what will happen in the region. Dictatorships are notoriously unpredictable.

      I will probably write about Trump’s win soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

